Crunchy Chocolate Cookies

If your preferred chocolate cookie is crunchy rather than chewy, this is the recipe for you! Given to me by the lovely Michelle, whom I met at a dress-making class, these are very yummy. Her recipe calls for nuts, and generally bigger cookies, which just proves that the quantities specified are always a bit of a fabrication. Along with fudgy chocolate cake, another one to possibly avoid until after Lent’s over; think these took my tally of making-people-break-their-Lenten-sacrifice to 4 (not sure whether to feel bad or proud for that…)


(makes 18)

 

100g chocolate, chopped

125g butter

100g caster sugar

100g light muscovado sugar

1 large egg

220g plain flour

2 tbsp cocoa powder

1 tbsp hot chocolate powder

1/2 tsp baking powder

1/2 tsp bicarbonate of soda

 

  1. Mix butter and sugars together until soft and fluffy.
  2. Beat in egg.
  3. Sift in flour, cocoa, hot chocolate powder, baking powder and bicarbonate of soda and mix well.
  4. Stir in chocolate.
  5. Roll heaped tbsps and flatten on greased baking trays.
  6. Bake for about 12-15 minutes at 180oC; leave to cool before transferring to wire racks.
4 thoughts on “Crunchy Chocolate Cookies

  1. I usually don’t change recipes until I’ve tried the original. I this case, I had to make changes because I didn’t have the fancy sugars. I ran white sugar in the coffee grinder instead of using castor sugar & substituted brown sugar for the other sugar. I also added walnuts because I could & why not?
    The batter is not normal cookie batter, which is fine because this isn’t a normal chewy cookie, it’s the magical crispy kind. Towards the end of adding dry ingredients, I opted to use my hands to finish mixing.
    The cookies do rise a bit, so that tablespoon of batter goes further than expected.
    Taste: pretty dang good. I think I will add more chocolate to the batter next time, make it a little darker, but that’s a personal preference. This is a yummy cookie. Thank you!

    1. To be honest I normally use granulated sugar for caster as a matter of course, as it’s that much cheaper – would recommend brown sugar though, it does give it an extra dark/hint of treacle feel. Glad you liked 🙂

Outraged? Hungry? Thrilled? Want to say hi?

