Sunflower Oil Oaty Chocolate Chip Cookies

For those days when the butter is gone, or you feel like a substantially oaty snack, or you just feel like making a quick batch of cookies. Actually, I think I might whip some up now*…

*Not actually now, as I’m in an exam (LAST EXAM FOR 6 MONTHS 😀 [hopefully]). I’m not really here, you see. This is me-as-of-6 days ago, speaking to you… I hope I’ve not died in the meantime; that could be a bit awkward. Anyhoo, you get the picture. Quick and easy and I think I’ll make them some time soon in my endeavours to use up stuff in the kitchen before I say sayonara to my lovely flat and migrate South-East** for the summer.

**Nowhere exotic, just the other side of Glasgow.(makes 24-34; can be halved)

320g brown sugar

160 ml vegetable oil

2 tsp vanilla

2 large eggs

2 tsp baking powder

250g plain flour

160g oats

160g dark chocolate, cut into chunks

  1. Mix together the sugar, oil, vanilla and eggs.
  2. When well mixed, add the baking powder and stir well.
  3. Stir in add the flour until absorbed.
  4. Stir in the oats and chocolate chips.
  5. Scoop big teaspoons or small tablespoons of dough onto greased cookie sheets, spacing about 2 inches apart. These don’t spread much.
  6. Bake for 10-13 minutes at Gas Mark 4 / 180oC. Cookies are done when edges are slightly browned.
One thought on “Sunflower Oil Oaty Chocolate Chip Cookies

Outraged? Hungry? Thrilled? Want to say hi?

