Sweet and Sour C…arrots

So, at the market, you can buy carrots at 0.99€ a kilo; at Lidl, you can get 3kg of carrots for 0.99€. Needless to say, I bought the latter. That is, however, quite a lot of carrots, and other than being the crazy Scottish girl giving out carrots to everyone on my corridor, I wasn’t sure what to do with them. A google later, and I came up with a few ideas other than my initial ideas of carrot sticks, salad, and soup. The first google suggestion was carrot soup, with a bit of a twist in that it called for the addition of orange juice. Now, maybe it was the fact that I substituted it for a slosh of sirop a l’orange, but this soup tasted absolutely bogging. There is no other word for it. I may also be put off eau a l’orange for life, which isn’t ideal when a hot, non-milk based drink is called for for hiking expeditions. Anyway, I digress… the next potentially intriguing thing that presented itself was sweet and sour carrots. So I went with them.

FYI, this is what I’m dealing with kitchen-wise. (Rare moment when nobody else is trying to use the 2 working hobs)

(rare moment when the kitchen's empty)

So, yeah…

You can’t see, around the corner is a table with 5 chairs, but nobody eats there so there’s not really much point to it.

The pots a-sizzlin’:

And the end result:

Recipe after the jump…

(serves 3-4)

7-8 medium carrots, peeled and sliced

1 pepper (I used red), cut in 1-inch squares

1 can pineapple chunks in juice or syrup

2 tbsp sugar (demerara or white)

2 tbsp plain flour

2 tbsp vinegar (I used balsamic)

2 tbsp soy sauce (the recipe called for 2 tsp, but I misread, and it tasted good, so up to you how much you want really!)

  1. Drain the pineapple juice or syrup into a measuring cup and add water if necessary to make 1/2 a cup.
  2. Cook the carrots in a covered pot for about 10 minutes, then add the pepper and cook 3 minutes longer. Drain well.
  3. After the carrots have been cooking 5 minutes, in a small saucepan combine the sugar, flour, pineapple liquid, vinegar, and soy. Using a small whisk or a spoon to stir constantly, cook until thickened and bubbly.
  4. Stir into hot vegetables and add pineapple.
  5. Serve with rice.

(via)

4 thoughts on “Sweet and Sour C…arrots

  1. Sounds nice sarah. I made a cake in my scary gas oven last week. It didn’t rise much (I may have bought plain flour instead of SR) and the drinking chocolate here is too dark for my liking. All in all not a success 😦

    1. Aw 😦 I’ve found the same in France, actually, it’s either nesquik rubbish or cocoa… I’d suggest melting 4-6sqs milk chocolate (or mainly milk), adding a spoon of cocoa and a little hot milk and stirring vigorously til it’s a paste, then adding more hot milk, then an extra blast in the microwave – best hot choc ever!

    1. It’s a fairly quick, cheap, and tasty recipe anyway, so not too much harm done if not! But hopefully it will – the colours and different flavours are fun, and obviously you could mix it up with different secondary veg depending on his/her preferences! Thanks for checking out the blog 🙂

Outraged? Hungry? Thrilled? Want to say hi?

