Lentil and Kidney Bean Chilli (Vegetarian / Vegan)

Mark Driscoll can keep his chilli con carne, this delicious chilli is one of the nicest I’ve tasted (though I do say so myself…), with the balsamic vinegar and dark chocolate giving it a hint of unusual flavour, plus as an added bonus is cheap on the pocket and kind to the environment! And can take being left in the fridge for several days. Just the thing for a cold, dark winter’s night, with rice or pita bread. I just left out a few of the spices from the original recipe as I’ve a limited supply over here, and the lack of bay leaves didn’t seem to make a difference.

*Added bonus* as I found out when searching (well, wikipedia-ing) the difference between red and green lentils (I’ve always used red, but they’re about to run out and French stores appear to have only the green variety), this chilli is not only amazing, it is also potentially biblical – Genesis Ch25: Jacob makes a lentil pottage in exchange for his brother’s birthrights. So booyah. (I can see why, it is delicious.)

(Serves 4-5)

400g tin of kidney beans, drained
A generous handful of red split lentils
1 large onion, chopped
1 pepper, sliced
2 cloves of garlic, chopped finely
2 x 400g tin of peeled plum tomatoes / passata
50g of dark chocolate, chopped
2 tbsp tomato puree
Olive oil
2 tsp balsamic vinegar
1 tsp chilli powder
1 ½ tsp ground cumin
½ tsp ground cinnamon
2 bay leaves

  1. Fry the onion, garlic, and spices in some oil for 5 minutes
  2. Add the pepper and cook for a further 5 minutes
  3. Add the rest of the ingredients. Stir until all are combined, then simmer for about 20-30 minutes until the lentils are tender. Add some water if needed.
  4. Serve with rice or pita, and a dollop of creme fraiche if you fancy it!

(Recipe from: http://frugalfeeding.wordpress.com/2011/10/01/lentil-and-kidney-bean-chilli/)

6 thoughts on “Lentil and Kidney Bean Chilli (Vegetarian / Vegan)

  1. Thank you for this, I’m making it as I type! I am a notoriously poor cook so am excited for yummy, relatively simple and cheap food! I’ve added courgette as I had it but forgot to get chocolate, that’s not a great swap in my opinion!

    1. Ooh no, that’s not a good deal at all! It’s amazing how expensive everything is in France, actually quite surprised more of them don’t turn veggie to keep the costs down. Let me know how it works out minus the chocolate!

Outraged? Hungry? Thrilled? Want to say hi?

