Bean Burgers [Veggie]

I’ve been sorta-vegetarian for 4 weeks now. Or at least, the one where you eat fish, ‘cos I’ve had some sustainably bought tuna from time to time. Pescetarian? Google says yes. It’s not for any moral or ethical reasons, more just that I don’t really like the taste of everyday meat and meat of any sort is so expensive here. Plus I’m really scared of what they serve in the Resto-U (Uni restaurants)… not that I eat there often, but the couple of times I have they were far too reminiscent of school dinners… and I watched that Jamie Oliver show…

Anyway, a mixture of that and my kitchen limitations (down to 2 hobs for our 40-person floor  and the portable oven’s disappeared again) has led me to be really bored with food. Anyone got any inspiration for me? That doesn’t require an oven? And isn’t curry, chilli, tomato-based pasta, tangine, omelette, stirfry, salad, or soup (which seem to be my basic staples at the moment)?

It was to this end that I decided to branch out a bit and try beanburgers. First off, let me say: don’t be afraid of rice. It is *ok* to use rice again. You just need to make sure that when you make it you put it covered in the fridge as soon as it’s cold. This rice is used instead of the breadcrumbs found in many bean-burger recipes, as far as I can tell. Use whatever beans you like; France is quite restricted in its bean-offering so I had a mixture of kidney and cannellini beans (I think, “red beans” and “white beans” respectively).

These went down a treat with some home-made fries, made by cutting potatoes, patting down with kitchen roll to dry them off, tossing in a mix of some oil, salt, pepper, and a pinch of lemon juice, and leaving in a 160oC oven for 90 minutes – 2 hours, turning every so often.

(serves 5)

2 teaspoons olive oil
1 cup chopped onion
4 garlic cloves, minced / 2 tsp dried garlic
1 cup grated carrots
1 teaspoon chili powder
½ teaspoon ground cumin
2 cans beans, the same or different
2 tablespoons mustard
2 tablespoons soy sauce
2 tablespoons ketchup / 1 tsbp tomato purée
1½ cups cooked rice

  1. With a medium heat, heat oil and soften the onion and garlic for 5-7 minutes. Reduce the heat to low and add in the carrots and spices. Cook for 5 minutes, stirring occasionally. Remove from the heat and let cool.
  2. Meanwhile, mash the beans, mustard, soy, and ketchup together in a large bowl. Stir in the vegetable mixture and the cooked rice.
  3. Form the mixture into 10 patties. Heat a teaspoon of oil in a frying pan. Cook at medium for 5 minutes on each side until browned and crispy.
3 thoughts on “Bean Burgers [Veggie]

    1. Thanks! Yes, they stayed together really well actually, which was good after my last experiment with bean burgers a few years ago led to a gloopy mess! I should maybe add at this point – I didn’t exactly mash the beans together as per the recipe as I don’t have a masher, but whizzed them together pretty comprehensively with a hand mixer. (This is what happens when you don’t write up blog posts til a week after making the things!) Just thought I’d add that in as a possible factor for how well they stayed together 🙂

Outraged? Hungry? Thrilled? Want to say hi?

