Chocolate Yoghurt Cupcakes

I’ve not baked in a month. Maybe more. This perhaps explains my lethargy and general lack of joie-de-vivre at the moment (I’m allowed to use as much franglais as I like at the moment; you can start getting annoyed at me when I’m back to be pretentious in person). Though the latter is perhaps more connected to the ongoing bike and sécurité social sagas which shall be related in future blogs. Suffice to say I’m not getting on with my bike or French administration at the moment.

I decided a few days ago to buy some (1kg of, in fact) fromage frais which seems to be France’s answer to yoghurt (the trick is to add some jam or honey, or else some fresh fruit and sugar, and eat with some honey-roasted oats, preferably from Denmark). As this was the 2nd kilo of fromage frais I’d bought in as many weeks, I thought I’d branch out and try using it as a baking ingredient. It seems to have worked quite well, though of course results are always a bit weird with the cupcake baker, and the resultant mini cakes are reasonably moist and chocolatey, while also being quite light. I’d maybe add a tablespoon of cocoa to bulk up the chocolatey-ness if making again, however.

200g dark chocolate

100g butter, melted

1/2 cup yogurt/yoghurt/fromage frais, plain

200g / 1 cup sugar

3 eggs

1 tsp vanilla

190g / 1.5 cups flour

1.5 tsp baking powder

Pinch salt

  1. Melt the chocolate with half of the butter.
  2. In a separate bowl, mix the rest of the butter (make sure it’s not hot when it comes into contact with the eggs), yoghurt, sugar, eggs, and vanilla.
  3. In another bowl (sorry for all the dishes!), whisk the flour, baking powder, and salt, then make a well in the centre.
  4. Pour in the yoghurt mixture and stir until just mixed.
  5. Pour in the melted chocolate and stir until just combined again.
  6. Bake at 180oC for 15-25 minutes depending on the size of your cupcakes; until springy.

(adapted from smitten kitchen)

Song of the moment: Somebody That I Used To Know – Gotye

Outraged? Hungry? Thrilled? Want to say hi?

