Creamy Salmon Pasta

The closer I get to leaving, the less inclined I am to buy anything which I’m not going to use up. I’m investigating vinegar or lemon-juice rinses for my hair conditioner which is about to be finished, and am just accepting life for the next 10 days without couscous, rice, or soy sauce. Which was a bit annoying a few days ago when I decided to cook something salmony as soy sauce goes really nicely with salmon (mind you, the recipe I’ve got for that also involves an oven… I’m about to stop going on about my lack thereof, promise 😉 ). On the plus side, I get the satisfaction of not wasting any food. Necessity is the father of invention after all (even if googlefight seems to think that doubt is), and having a passing desire for salmon, a separate craving for boursin (essentially, posh cream cheese), and there being some tasty-looking green beans at market led to this concoction.

My camera has still not recovered from its unfortunate Instagram envy, so the picture quality continues to be fluid (to the left of the picture, anyway).

(serves 2)

1 red onion, chopped

1/2 tsp pepper

2 tbsp ground ginger

Handful green beans, chopped

100g smoked salmon, flaked (tinned might be an alternative, you’re going to flake it up anyway)

125ml single cream

Squirt lemon juice

125g cream cheese (optional: nut-flavoured)

  1. Fry the onion gently in a pan for a few minutes until it’s softened
  2. Stir in the pepper, ginger, and green beans and stir around for another couple of minutes
  3. Stir in the salmon, then once it’s evenly distributed add the cream, lemon juice, and cream cheese
  4. Stir everything again and let reduce for a few minutes. Add some more cream or milk if you want a more liquid sauce
  5. Serve with pasta or another carbohydrate of your choice.
2 thoughts on “Creamy Salmon Pasta

    1. I question your judgement there somewhat Chris, given there’s also chocolate currently on the homepage 😉 but if it was written with sincerity, then remind me and I can look into Boursin substitutes next time I invite you over for tea once I’m moved back into the west end! 😀

Outraged? Hungry? Thrilled? Want to say hi?

