Mint Chocolate Chip Bar Cookies

It was a truly beautiful occasion when I was reunited with my silicone baking utensils and mother’s oven… I’ll spare you the details, but a tear or two may have been shed. And what better way to celebrate making it through a first week of placement in a commercial law firm than baking? I’m sure you’ll agree that it was inevitable. I’m only sad that it took me a whole 9 days of being home before I had the time to bake something.

The inspiration for this recipe came from Andie, an American friend from Strasbourg that spends far too much time on Reddit and has the unfortunate non-aversion to Betty Crocker. She polluted my facebook wall (timeline?) with a link to that travesty of a website, but she did so with the best of intentions and so I moved past the pre-made “cookie” mix to distil the essential idea: add some peppermint extract and green food dye to a basic chocolate chip recipe.

Though I was thrilled to be sharing breathing space with an oven, I did not actually experience the joys of switching it on as  I was due to leave later on and so had to leave the supervision of the action in the capable hands of my mum. For that reason, I decided to re-visit the bar cookie, a delightful mix between a cookie and a brownie. Minimal fuss as it avoids the dropping or rolling of cookie balls, and resting in the fridge covered in clingfilm for a few hours did it no harm (though this is not necessary).

Unfortunately, this failure to personally oversee the baking of the cookies to their termination turned out to be a fatal flaw in my plan. For, using her powers of sorcery, somehow my mother managed to remove all the green from the cookies between minutes 30 and 45 in the oven. Alternatively, I may not have added quite enough food dye, but I prefer the former explanation. They still taste minty, which I guess is the main thing… just if I was making them again I’d either use the dye paste-gels or quite a bit more food colouring.

(makes 16/20)

260g plain flour

1 teaspoon baking soda

170g unsalted butter, softened

165g brown sugar

100g white sugar

1 large egg

1 tsp peppermint extract (bonus points if its in date… the one I used may have been older than I, but it didn’t poison anyone!)

1/4 tsp green food dye (was what I used… I’d advise at least 1tsp to try for proper greenness)

150g dark chocolate chips (I only had milk, but dark would have been better)

  1. Preheat the oven to 170oC
  2. In a medium bowl, whisk together the flour, baking soda and salt. Set aside.
  3. In the bowl of an electric mixer fitted with the paddle attachment, cream butter and sugars until the mixture is light and fluffy, about 2 minutes.
  4. Add egg, mint, and green dye, mixing until they are fully incorporated.
  5. Add flour mixture, and beat until just combined.
  6. Stir in chocolate chips.
  7. Transfer dough to a brownie/swiss roll pan (preferably silicone) and press to flatten, covering the bottom of the pan. Bake until the edges are brown, 40 to 45 minutes.
  8. Transfer to a wire rack to cool, 15 to 20 minutes.
5 thoughts on “Mint Chocolate Chip Bar Cookies

  1. I can SO relate to the wonderfullness of getting back to your parents’ kitchen…I’ve been home from uni this weekend and been baking away today, so lovely! Your cookie bars sound delicious!

  2. Although most of the food looks very tasty on your blog, I have to say that mint chocolate and cookies is an odd mix. Like drinking orange juice after brushing your teeth or having desert then tea. There is something inherently wrong about it!

    1. Admittedly they were not my absolute favourite, but it’s hard to find something to please my ginger- and raisin-spurning sisters and all chocolate all the time can get a tad monotonous! However the combination does go better than you might think – consider the After 8 Mint and you shall see that the flavours of mint and chocolate can combine to a harmonious whole. On a seperate point, what on earth is wrong with having tea after dessert? Much better than coffee, I’d rather not be awake all night… Unless you mean tea as in dinner, but even then it’s a good way to ensure you’ve got room for dessert to eat it first 😉

      1. Yes I meant tea as in dinner… I didn’t want to say dinner because then some people would think I meant lunch and considering that I had mango sorbet for lunch yesterday it would have been quite hypocritical of me.

        And the after 8 mint can get lost. It isn’t quite a refreshing mint, and it isn’t a good bit of chocolate, can’t keep itself to itself. It is a whore of the confectionery world!

Outraged? Hungry? Thrilled? Want to say hi?

