London Fog

For whatever reason (probably my tea obsession), I have been immensely intrigued by the drink named “London Fog” available from Smug in Great George St, Glasgow. Apparently it’s available at Starbucks too. But I object to paying £3.50 for a cup of coffee, and object even more strongly to paying the same for tea, so I thought I’d save the pennies and look up a recipe online. Admittedly, you probably haven’t been bothered recently by a quest for the perfect Earl Grey Latte, but I thought I’d enlighten you with my efforts nonetheless. It’s essentially Earl Grey tea, some water, some milk, and some vanilla syrup. Disclaimer: as I’ve not actually tried a London Fog Latte, I have no idea if the following actually tastes like that which you would buy in coffee outlets. I do, however, know that it is both sweet and tasty.

(makes 1 – and no I don’t normally drink tea from a glass, this was merely for photographic purposes)

Vanilla Syrup

1 cup water

1 cup sugar

1 tsp vanilla extract

  1. Heat the water and sugar over a medium heat, stirring.
  2. When the sugar is dissolved, remove from heat and add the vanilla extract.

The Main Drink

1.5tbsp vanilla syrup

1 cup (250ml) Earl Grey tea

1/2 cup (125ml) milk

  1. Heat the milk and whisk to froth it, or steam it if you have a steamer
  2. Pour the Earl Grey into a large mug and add the vanilla syrup
  3. Pour in the hot milk and mix

On a whim, I youtubed “London Fog” to see what would come up, instinctively reckoning that I’d appreciate a song with that name. Indeed, I did like the following, so thought I’d share (by Good For Grapes):

Outraged? Hungry? Thrilled? Want to say hi?

